The Good Gardener

Standard

the good gardener  

‘I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser.’          (John 15:1)

I was recently re-reading John 15:1 about the vine, the branches and the gardener. Jesus is the vine, you and I are the branches – but the gardener is our Father God.

I have read this many times before – no doubt you have too – but Scripture always speaks again. These thoughts are just a reminder. All of us have experienced times when we have had to face ‘pruning’. Such times may have been deep and painful. I know that has been true in my own life. But these seasons have been needed. Some of my greatest and most lasting growth has resulted from going through such periods.

I was thinking about this and sitting looking out on my garden. It’s only small, but is quite beautiful. When I say that it is ‘my’ garden, I really should be saying it was my late wife’s garden. I helped in setting it up but she did all the planting. And she loved gardening. She knew when and where to plant things. She knew when they needed transplanting. She knew what kind of soil they needed. She watched that weeds didn’t choke them. And she knew when to prune and by how much. She was a good gardener. But my heavenly Father is not only a good gardener, He is the perfect gardener. The One who knows the absolute best for me. Jesus says that the Father ‘cuts off every branch that does not bear fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit He prunes so that it will be even more fruitful’ (John 15:2).

Some aspects of my life may be hampering its full growth. God wants my life to be more and more beautiful and fruitful. Pruning is always about enhancing the beauty and health of the plant. And the most prolific and beautiful plants, eg rhododendrons, often need the most pruning or they can choke the life of those growing around them! We can thank God for the fruit He has privileged us to bear. But where do we need to bear more fruit? What is it that may still need pruning? I am praying for understanding and willingness as to what the ‘Good Gardener’, my loving heavenly Father, wants to do in my life. Pruning needs to be a regular thing. It’s not a ‘one off’ matter. At the right season, right time and in the right amount, it is essential for the branches’ growth, health and beauty. And so it is with us.

by MAF Co-founder Stuart King

This devotional was taken from ‘Powered by Prayer’ a 30 day devotional with contributions from MAF staff across the world. To order your copy go to: http://www.maf-uk.org/Books/12260.id

Leave a comment